Cet article est aussi disponible en: French
You are Muslim and you are, or you will go to, Japan. You want to eat Halal to respect your religion but you don not know if that’s possible? Let me reassure you right away: Yes it is possible, and I know what I mean, because I myself am Muslim belief and I eat Halal. Here is how to do it.
Today I will speak to some people who have different dietary needs. These needs are especially due to strong religious beliefs. If I decide to write an article dedicated to this theme, it’s because I’m Muslim belief and I know how it can be hard to eat Halal when travelling. Halal food in Japan, it is possible to get it, contrary to what many imagine. And I will show in this article how. But first let’s start with an explanation of Halal.
What is Halal?
First and foremost, to answer any questions from everyone, I offer a brief reminder on what is Halal.
The term Halal in Islam means AUTHORIZED. Are otherwise the word HARAM (forbidden). You should know that the term Halal does not apply only to food, contrary to what many think, but to all the behaviour of a Muslim. Simply put regard to food, will be considered Halal the following kind of food:
- Which are good for health and for taste
- For meat, it must be slaughtered in the name of God, bled to death, with the greatest for the animal, without torture and without the sacrifice before his fellows, while the direction of Mecca.
- Not be eaten by greed, or large quantities
- Which contain no pork or alcohol, even in minute quantities (even when cooked)
Here are the main rules for the Halal food.
Halal food in Tokyo and Japan: yes you can!!!
Now back to our Halal food in Tokyo and Japan. Here, it is very easy to eat Halal food said, since a large part of the diets is based on fish (mostly halal allowed foor, with certain exceptions). So just get into any restaurant or store and you can easily feed yourself. Regarding meat, you will know a little more difficulties, given that the Japanese know little or nothing about Muslim culture and religion. In addition, the number of practicing Muslim site will make your choices less important (there would be a little less than 1% of the Japanese population who are Muslim). But still, know that there are some restaurants and stores offering Halal products of all kinds. You can find them all over Tokyo, by walking in the streets, either by searching on Internet. The only problem is that these stores are small and choice is very limited.
Halal food in Japan: advice to not do any mistakes
Now, what I can propose you is some basic advice to be sure not to make mistakes. They are :
- When you enter a restaurant, if the Halal logo is not displayed, simply ask the vegetarian dishes or based on fish, and the menu for soft drinks. This will simplify the task, and you will avoid mistakes. Often in restaurants the waiters speak some English or they have English menu.
- When you shop, it gets a little harder. Few people speak English in stores. Moreover, on all products, information is only in Japanese. It can be very difficult to identify and make the right choice. So you can help by viewing images on the products and the general appearance of it. Often the products based on fish or vegetables have a logo of fish, seafood or vegetables. More, the colour codes are quite recognizable (pink and orange often means fish, green vegetables). If you are unsure, ask questions to employees.
- If you are Muslim and you come to Japan, it is better to speak at least English. Otherwise it will be uphill battle for food. But however to simply your life, I will give you words of Japanese vocabulary, to help you out.
To eat Halal in Tokyo and Japan: some Japanese vocabulary can help
When you arrive in a new country, it’s always good to know some basic vocabulary. Especially when you have a specific diet. Here is a list of useful Japanese vocabulary for people of Muslim faith.
- In general
I am Muslim: WATASHI WA ISURAMUKYÔTO DES(U)
- At the restaurant
Soft Drink: SOFUTO DORINKU
Is there a Halal restaurant near here? KONO CHIKAKU NI ISURAMUKYÔTO NO TAME NO HARARU ARIMAS(U) KA?
What is inside this dish? DOKO GA OSUSUME DES(U) KA?
- At the store
Where can I find the fish department? SAKANA NO KÔNA WA DOKO DES(U) KA ?
Is this a product without animal? KORE WA DÔBUTSUSEI SEIBUNNUKI NO SHOKUHIN DES(U) KA?
I hope this article will be useful and if you have more specific questions, or even comments, you can contact me at anytime.